Regulatory & Safety

Whether it is a food supplement, medical device or innovative medicinal product — the regulatory framework for development, testing/trial, market access, as well as the continuous maintenance of an approval once obtained is more or less extensive, depending on the product and the target group envisaged; however, in order to avoid complaints from the health authorities, knowledge of and compliance with these regulations is essential.

Challenge: Having a brilliant idea for an innovative product is usually the first milestone for a successful business model. The regulatory framework is determined by the healthcare sector in which the product is to be marketed. Knowing the legal requirements for the different sectors – cosmetics, medical devices/medical technology, pharmaceuticals – well helps to avoid stumbling blocks from the very beginning, as well as, for example, extensive reworking of approval-relevant studies, marketing concepts or advertising strategies. The regulatory classification of a product (based on the intended purpose), the early initiation of conformity assessment procedures and certifications (for medical devices in Classes I, IIa, IIb and III) or approval procedures (for drugs), including clinical trials and safety-relevant aspects (integrated safety/vigilance, pharmacovigilance), require foresighted planning and good preparation.

Outlook: Regulatory frameworks are subject to constant change and are subject to ever faster cycles due to the increasing globalisation and digitalisation of the health care system. The degree of complexity is also increasing – with corresponding effects on the best possible positioning of a product idea, the choice of the appropriate market environment and market access. Will a product be marketed as a medical device or approved as a drug? What requirements are derived from this for patient safety? What clinical trials are required for medical devices, how is drug safety ensured before and after the approval of advanced therapies (ATMP), orphan drugs or biopharmaceuticals? Experienced experts are needed to answer these questions pragmatically and individually.

Healthcare Shapers have experienced physicians and natural scientists who are experts in their respective fields and who are specialised in corresponding questions. They are familiar with the relevant legal framework and can ensure that companies and their products are operating in regulatory safe territory – an indispensable basis not only for the economic success of drugs and medical devices, but also for the best possible care of patients and users.

    Blog Posts & Case Studies

    Your Experts

    Contact

    HOW TO ENGAGE WITH US

    Sometimes, you just want to exchange with experts. You can join us for an informal meeting during one of our events. We can help you to get a second opinion for your question during a Sounding Board workshop. And we can help you to scope a project during a tailor-made workshop. If you have already a plan for your project, we can help you to find the right consultant or the perfectly aligned project team.

    Healthcare_Shapers_Consulting

    Consulting

    The collaborators of Healthcare Shapers are all consultants with many…

    Healthcare_Shapers_events

    Events

    Healthcare Shapers exchange information about trends in the healthcare industry.…

    Digital_Health_Healthcare_Shapers_com

    Interim Management

    Often our clients cannot fill line positions or roles in…

    Sounding Board

    Sounding Board

    No one understands your business better than you do. But…

    Healthcare_Shapers_Workshops

    Workshops

    We get the experts talking in tailor-made workshops. Different perspectives…

    WANT TO KNOW MORE?

    We look forward to hearing from you.

    TOP

Regulatory Affairs

Ob Nahrungsergänzungsmittel, Medizinprodukt oder innovatives Arzneimittel – die regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen für die Entwicklung, die Prüfung/Erprobung, den Marktzugang, sowie die kontinuierliche Aufrechterhaltung einer einmal erhaltenen Zulassung sind je nach Produkt und angedachter Zielgruppe mehr oder weniger umfangreich; um Beanstandungen seitens der Gesundheitsbehörden zu vermeiden, ist deren Kenntnis und Einhaltung jedoch essentiell.

Herausforderung: Eine zündende Idee für ein innovatives Produkt zu haben, ist meist der erste Meilenstein für ein erfolgreiches Geschäftsmodell. Der regulatorische Rahmen wird durch den Bereich des Healthcare-Sektors bestimmt, in dem das Produkt vermarktet werden soll. Die gesetzlichen Anforderungen für die verschiedenen Bereiche – Kosmetika, Medizinprodukte/Medizintechnik, Arzneimittel – gut zu kennen, hilft Stolperfallen von Anfang an zu vermeiden, ebenso wie z.B. umfangreiche Nachbesserungen bei zulassungsrelevanten Studien, Vermarktungskonzepten oder Werbestrategien. Die regulatorische Einstufung eines Produkts (ausgehend von der angedachten Zweckbestimmung), die frühzeitige Bahnung von Konformitätsbewertungsverfahren und Zertifizierungen (für Medizinprodukte der Klassen I, IIa, IIb und III) bzw. Zulassungsverfahren (für Arzneimittel), einschl. klinischer Prüfungen und sicherheitsrelevanter Aspekte (integrierte Sicherheit/Vigilanz, Pharmakovigilanz), erfordern vorausschauende Planung und gute Vorbereitung.

Ausblick:Regulatorische Rahmenbedingungen unterliegen einem stetigen Wandel und verändern sich aufgrund der zunehmenden Globalisierung und Digitalisierung des Gesundheitswesens in immer rascheren Zyklen. Auch der Komplexitätsgrad steigt – mit entsprechenden Auswirkungen auf die bestmögliche Positionierung einer Produktidee, die Wahl des adäquaten Marktumfelds und den Marktzugang. Wird ein Produkt als Medizinprodukt in Verkehr gebracht oder als Arzneimittel zugelassen? Welche Anforderungen leiten sich daraus für die Patientensicherheit ab? Welche klinischen Prüfungen sind für Medizinprodukte erforderlich, wie wird die Arzneimittelsicherheit vor und nach Zulassung von neuartigen Therapien (ATMP), Orphan Drugs oder Biopharmazeutika sichergestellt? Um diese Fragen pragmatisch und individuell beantworten zu können, braucht es versierte Experten.

Die Healthcare Shapers verfügen über erfahrene Mediziner und Naturwissenschaftler, die als Experten in ihrem jeweiligen Fachgebiet auf entsprechende Fragestellungen spezialisiert sind. Sie kennen die einschlägigen rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen und können sicherstellen, daß sich Unternehmen mit ihren Produkten auf regulatorisch sicherem Terrain bewegen – eine unverzichtbare Basis nicht nur für den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg von Arzneimitteln und Medizinprodukten, sondern auch für die bestmögliche Versorgung von Patienten und Anwendern.

    Blogbeiträge & Case Studies

    Your Experts

    Kontakt

    WIE KOMMEN WIR ZUSAMMEN?

    Einige unserer Kunden suchen den informellen Austausch mit Experten. Kommen Sie zu einer unserer Veranstaltungen, bei der wir über Trends in der Gesundheitswirtschaft sprechen. Andere Kunden wollen einfach mal eine Zweitmeinung zu einer schwierigen Frage einholen. Bei einem Sounding Board bringen wir die richtigen Experten zusammen und nehmen Stellung zu Ihrer Frage. Ganz pragmatisch und ohne großes Beraterhonorar. Manchmal geht es aber auch um die Präzisierung einer Frage. Oft hilft ein maßgeschneiderter Workshop mit den richtigen Beteiligten, hieraus einen konkreten Projektplan zu gestalten. Und wenn Sie bereits den Plan für Ihr Projekt haben, helfen wir Ihnen, den richtigen Berater oder das perfekt abgestimmte Projektteam zu finden. Oftmals besetzen wir auch Rollen ad Interim. Und immer ohne Overhead-Kosten. Denn wir sind keine Beratungsfirma, sondern ein Netzwerk von selbständigen Unternehmern. Und wir denken genauso unternehmerisch wie unsere Kunden.

    Healthcare_Shapers_Consulting

    Consulting

    Die Partner der Healthcare Shapers sind allesamt Beraterpersönlichkeiten mit langjähriger…

    Healthcare_Shapers_events

    Events

    Healthcare Shapers tauschen sich aus über Trends in der Gesundheitswirtschaft.…

    Digital_Health_Healthcare_Shapers_com

    Interim Management

    Oftmals können unsere Kunden Linienpositionen oder Rollen im Projekt- oder…

    Sounding Board

    Sounding Board

    Niemand versteht Ihr Geschäft besser als Sie selbst. Aber manchmal…

    Healthcare_Shapers_Workshops

    Workshops

    In  maßgeschneiderten Workshops bringen wir die Experten zum Reden. Denn…

    SIE MÖCHTEN MEHR ERFAHREN?

    Sprechen Sie uns an. Wir sind gerne für Sie da.

    OBEN